

## Ramanujan Mathematical Society

[Registered No. 64/1985. Thiruchirappali]

www.ramanujanmathsociety.org

### Minutes of the General Body meeting held on 06.08.2021

- 1. The General Body (GB) meeting of the Ramanujan Mathematical Society (RMS) was held on 6th August, 2021 from 3:45 PM to 6:35 PM **online** via Google meet arranged by the local organiser of the 36th Annual Conference Professor K. Somasundaram.
- 2. The President Professor S. Ponnusamy welcomed everyone, and requested the Secretary to present his report.
- 3. The Secretary of RMS, Professor C.S. Aravinda, welcomed the members present at meeting. He began by recounting that most of 7 months since the last GB meeting in December 2021 was again a very tough period, hit by the second wave of COVID-19 pandemic that raged over nation like a Tsunami. Several lives were lost, even as the vaccination drive was in place, leaving the anxious and infected public literally run from pillar to post seeking emergency medical attention. In the midst of such panic and difficult situation, no major events could take place. Recalling the sad passing away of many dear friends and colleagues closely associated with the activities of the RMS, the Secretary reported, with deep regret, the sad passing of the eminent mathematician Professor M.S. Narasimhan, one of the past presidents of RMS during the years 2006 to 2010. As a mark of respect to the departed souls who served the cause of mathematics with dignity and purpose, everyone present at the meeting observed a minute of silence. Resuming after this, and appealing to one and all to stay safe and healthy, he concluded his report.
- 4. Confirming the minutes of the previous GB meeting held on 28th December 2021 was taken up as the next item. Replying to the question of one of the members if there is any change in minutes posted in the RMS webpage, the Secretary mentioned that except a change of one sentence at the very end of item number 17, there is no change in the rest of minuted wording. Due to a certain technical difficulty, the President kindly took charge and presented the meeting agenda, and the final minutes of the GB 2020 meeting. After the modified sentence was read out by the Secretary, Dr. Tamil Chelvam proposed acceptance and Dr. S.R. Jayaram seconded the previous GB meeting minutes, which was then passed by the present GB.
- 5. There ensued a discussion about the propriety to make changes in the GB minutes. It was clarified that once changes made are brought to the attention of the members and presented, the finalised minutes can be deemed accepted at the present GB meeting. The President presented and read out the particular resolution (see Appendix A), in connection with the matter of item number 17, prepared by Professor R. Balakrishnan and Dr. Dinesh Singh. An elaborate discussion then followed in which most of the members who participated felt that certain points repeated in the resolution, in particular point number 10 in the list of terms and conditions, could potentially cause confusion. After much deliberation, the general consensus was to accept the resolution provided that the seemingly redundant point number 10 is removed. This was proposed by Dr. S.R. Jayaram and seconded by Dr. Sakir Ali.
- 6. It was reported that 96 new memberships have been approved since the last GB meeting, taking the total number of life members from 1584 to 1679 until the conduct of this GB meeting. Professor Tirunelveli Shanmugam proposed that admitting the new members to RMS be accepted, and Professor T. Tamizh Chelvam seconded it. And the GB approved.

- 7. The Secretary reported that RMS is functioning smoothly. Detailed reports of the JRMS, Lecture Notes Series (LNS) & Collected Works (CW) and MNL publication activities were presented.
- 8. The Academic Secretary Professor K.S. Charak in his report mentioned that one compact course was conducted during the year, and reported on the smooth conduct of the ICNTDM.
- 9. The audited statement of accounts was presented by the Treasurer Professor Durairajan. Some of the members sought certain clarifications from the Treasurer for which the Treasurer agreed to take it back to the Auditor. The report of the Auditor was later circulated to the entire membership list of the RMS on 22 March, 2022, with a request to respond before 26 March, 2022 by 6 pm (IST). Consequent to no objections received, and Professor Sanjay Pant proposing acceptance, Professor Rajeswari Seshadri seconding it, the report was deemed duly accepted.
- 10. As regards the venue for the 37th annual conference of RMS, the only proposal that was received was from Dr. Gauree Shanker of Central University of Punjab, Bathinda. The GB was unanimous in approving it. Given the still prevailing uncertainty due to the pandemic, it would be planned as a **hybrid conference** during 22–24 July 2022, while keeping the possibility to turn it to a regular physical location conference in case situation eases by then.
- 11. The GB meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

Secretary Rumanujan Mathematical Society

28 March, 2022



# Ramanujan Mathematical Society

[Registered No. 64/1985. Thiruchirappali]

www.ramanujanmathsociety.org

C. S. Aravinda Secretary

### Appendix A

### Resolution accepted at the GB Meeting of August 6, 2021 of the RMS

The Executive Committee meeting held on August 3, 2021 approved Professors R. Balakrishnan and Dinesh Singh to draft an appropriate resolution regarding the RMS Publication Committee (RPC), that was placed before the General Body of the RMS at its meeting on August 6, 2021.

After due discussion and deliberation, the formation of the RPC was accepted by the General Body under the following terms and conditions:

- 1. The RPC shall be a purely advisory body and shall function under the aegis of the rules and regulations of the RMS.
- 2. The sole purpose of the RPC is to ensure that the quality and standards of the publications of the RMS are maintained and enhanced.
- 3. All decisions of the EC shall be binding on the RPC.
- 4. The first RPC shall be deemed to have been appointed with effect from August 15, 2021.
- 5. The term of the RPC shall be for a period of three years
- 6. Each succeeding RPC shall ensure that fifty percent of its members are replaced.
- 7. The Chairman of the RPC shall be appointed by the EC
- 8. The President and the Secretary of the RMS shall not be members of the RPC.
- 9. The constitution of all subsequent RPC's shall be proposed by the Chairman of the RPC to the EC and shall be subject to the approval of the EC.

The first RPC is constituted as follows:

V. Kumar Murty *University of Toronto, Canada* (Chairman)

R. Parimala, Emory University, USA

Chandrashekhar Khare, UCLA, USA

Mahan Mj, TIFR Mumbai

Ritabrata Munshi, ISI Kolkata

Anish Ghosh, TIFR Mumbai

Kaushal Verma, IISc Bengaluru

Siddhartha Mishra, ETH, Zurich

Kavita Ramanan, Brown University, USA

K. Srinivas, IMSc. Chennai

Ambat Vijayakumar, CUSAT, Kerala

Haresh Dedania, Sardar Patel University, Ahmedabad

Sachi Srivastava Delhi University (Convener)