





[Registered No. 64/1985. Thiruchirappali]

www.ramanujanmathsociety.org

B.SURY Secretary Telephone : 9845195728 Email : surybang@gmail.com

Minutes of the GB meeting on 02.06.2018

- 1. The RMS General body meeting was held on 2nd June 2018 at the Department of Mathematics, University of Delhi, Delhi.
- 2. The secretary welcomed the members.
- 3. The President remarked that RMS should set the norms for a good mathematical society and create a very good environment for mathematics. He called upon the Secretary to take the GB through the agenda.
- 4. The minutes of the last GB meeting held on 25th June 2017 at Belagavi were passed. Prof. R. P. Sharma proposed acceptance and Prof. Tarun Das seconded it. The GB passed it.
- 5. The secretary reported there were 80 new applications (as of 1st June 2018) for membership in the year 2017-18. He read out some names and the list was made available to all members to peruse. On the day of the GB meeting, more applications were received and the final list for 2017-18 will be prepared based on these additions. Prof. R. P. Sharma proposed that this item (to admit these members to RMS) be accepted and Prof. S. Bagchi seconded it. The GB approved.
- 6. The academic secretary Prof. A.P. Singh reported on the many academic activities of the RMS during the past one year.
- 7. The audited statement for the year 2017-18 was tabled. It was proposed by Prof. C. S. Lalitha and seconded by Prof. Sachi Srivastava. The GB approved.

The treasurer mentioned the following points: (a) write off Rs. 8,60,774/- due from DST (this was proposed by Prof. Riddhi Shah and seconded by Prof. R. P. Sharma, and accepted), (b) a query related to spending income (the President assured that this will be clarified by consulting a Professional), and (c) Prof. Phoolan Prasad had donated Rs. 30,000/- towards the activity of RMS and Azim PremjPtoffeesity and this was

Ramanujan Mathematical Society

appreciated by the GB.

8. The Ramanujan Centre of Mathematics, Pondicherry University had expressed a desire to organize rthe 34th annual RMS conference in Pondicheery. The EC had discussed it and proposed to the GB to accept. The proposal was accepted by the GB with the proviso that the university guarantees availability of facilities and assures the registration fee is reasonably low.

In addition, there was a discussion on ways to control the registration fee. There was a suggestion that RMS should commit funds for the annual conference of the RMS so that the fees could be low and that more participation is possible. A 3-member committee comprising of Professors Jugal Verma, Ruchi Das and Rajshree Dhar was formed which would conevene a meeting to discuss and suggest important points as to how to organize a good annual conference; this will report the suggestions within 3 months from now.

- 9. The reports of the various publications of the RMS was presented by the Secretary.
 - (a) Regarding JRMS, concern was raised about the average period taken by the referee to submit the first report. Balanced editorial board was pointed to be a necessity. The President and Secretary were authorized to take up all thes issues with the editors of the journal.
 - (b) Prof. Ponnusamy presented a report on the Mathematics Newsletter of the RMS. He proposed that the speakers (plenary and invited) of the annual conferences could be invited to write a brief summary of their talk in the newsletter. The academic secretary could ask speakers to provide small write-ups of an extended abstract before the conference so that a copy of the mathematics newsletter could be released at each annual conference.
 - (c) The editor Prof. Pradipta Bandyopadhyay of the 'Little Mathematical Treasures' Series requested to be relieved of his editorial responsibilities. The names of Prof. C. S. Aravinda and Prof. R. Thangadurai which had been discussed by the EC and proposed to the GB as the editors in chief of the LMT series, were accepted by the GB.
 - (d) The Lecture Notes Series brought out a volume during the past year. Prof. Kumar Murty is forming a new editorial board; in a few weeks, a full set of names will be circulated by email. The President suggested a global search to solicit proposals for the LNS. A suggestion was made about creating good lecture notes for undergraduate students including engineering students.
- 10. The following decision of the EC was discussed in detail. As the officially registered bye-laws of the RMS was last registered in 1985, several issues needed to be addressed. As a result of this, Prof. Kesavan was tasked with the job of scrutinizing the old bye-laws and coming up with a suitably amended one. During the year, versions of the bye-laws were circulated with the EC and after several rounds of amendments, a final version **sus** arrived at by the EC. This **new version** of the bye-laws were proposed by the **BC** to be adopted by the GB. These new bye-laws had earlier been circulated through **Sche web-administrator** of the RMS to all members of the RMS for time to scrutinize.

thorough discussion by the GB, some minor suggestions were made on clarifying two of the points 9.8 and 17.5. The point about 9.8 was a suggestion to change the phrase 'maintain a website' to 'maintain a website directed by the Secretary'. The point about 17.5 was to include voting also as prescribed in 17.6. Several queries which were raised were satisfactorily answered by pointing to the points included in the new byelaws. Prof. J. K. Verma proposed and Prof. Tarun Das seconded the proposal to accept the new bye-laws for presentation to the registrar (after taking care of the two issues pointed out). The GB approved. Prof. Kesavan's contribution to the framing of the bye-laws was also appreciated by the members present.

- Finally, it was proposed that the next slate of the EC comprise of the following members: Prof. R. Karandikar of Chennai Mathematical Institute as President, Prof. K. Srinivas of The Institute of Mathematical Sciences Chennai as Vice President, Prof. C. S. Aravinda of TIFR Centre for Applicable Mathematics as Secretary, Prof. Geetha Venkataraman of Ambedkar University Delhi as Academic Secretary, Prof. C. Durairajan of Bharathidasan University Tiruchirapalli as Treasurer, Prof. Purnima Gupta of University of Delhi, Prof. K. S. Charak of University of Jammu and Prof. S. A. Katre of University of Pune as the members at large. This was proposed by Prof. S. Bagchi and seconded by Prof. Anuj Bishnoi. The GB approved the slate.
- 12. The GB thanked the organizers and the funding agencies DRDO, NBHM, University of Delhi, for organizing the 33rd annual conference efficiently at the University of Delhi.
- 13. The GB meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the chair.

(B. Sury) Secretary July 15, 2018

Professor B. Sur Society Secretary Ramanujan Mathematical

12005